UA Science
Photo courtesy of Adam Block (

Newest Press Releases and Photos from Astronomy/Steward

Here is some of the latest news.

1) Event Horizon Telescope Results

The Event Horizon Telescope team has released papers studying the M87 black hole in polarized light. You can find the press release HERE. Chi-Kwan Chan and Dan Marrone are quoted in this article.

2) The Pandora Mission

Daniel Apai's group is involved in planning for the Pandora Mission, a low-cost NASA mission to study exo-planet atmospheres using transit spectroscopy. The press release is HERE. Stewardites quoted in the article are Daniel Apai and former Steward grad student Ben Rackham (PhD 2018).

3) Newest Adam Block Photos 

a) Photo 1, part of the Tauris Molecular Cloud, from the Pomenis Astrograph.

b) Photo 2, NGC 1300, from the...

Three Upcoming Public Talks

The Dept. of Astronomy and Steward Observatory is hosting three talks in April.

The first, on April 5, at 7:30pm MST (note that Arizona does not keep  Daylight Saving Time) is by Dr Kevin Wagner, entitled "Imaging New Worlds in the Alpha Centauri System." The Zoom address is HERE

The second, on April 12, at 7:30pm MST on Zoom (zoom address is HERE) is by Professor Chris Impey. It's the 60th anniversary of the first manned spaceflight: Chris's talk is entitled: "Our Future in Space." You can see the talk flyer...

For the public
For Public

Public events include our Monday Night Lecture Series, world-reknowned Astronomy Camp and Mt Lemmon Sky Center.

For Students

A good place to start if you want to become an undergrad major or grad student, or need to find our schedule of classes.


For Scientists
For Scientists

Find telescopes and instruments, telescope time applications, staff and mountain contacts, and faculty and staff scientific interests.