UA Science

You are here

Undergraduate Student Awards

Every Spring semester the Department of Astronomy awards one exceptional senior with the Outstanding Senior Award. Candidates for the Outstanding Senior Award excel in their studies, as evidenced by having a GPA of 3.5 or better, are involved in research/internship, and are recognized as a leader within the campus or the larger community. The balance between these different aspects will vary, but every nominee is typically strong in all three areas. The department’s awardee will receive the departmental Outstanding Senior Award at the Spring Awards Ceremony which is held the morning of Reading Day. The College of Science awards committee will then select the College of Science overall outstanding senior from among the departmental outstanding seniors.

The Department of Astronomy also awards one graduating senior with the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award who has shown outstanding achievement in undergraduate research. In general, the student’s work is a significant contribution and shows originality, creativity, and a level of independence appropriate to the discipline. The College of Science awards committee will select the overall Undergraduate Research Award recipient from the departmental nominees. The overall College winner will also receive a Galileo Circle Scholarship and receive the honor of presenting their research at our Galileo Circle Scholars event in the Spring.

Semester            Outstanding Senior                     Excellence In Undergraduate Research

Fall 2021              Liam David                                     N/A

Spring 2021         Danielle Dickinson                         Maria Galloway-Sprietsma

Spring 2020         Mackenzie James                          Emily Walla

Spring 2019         Massimo Pascale                          Claire Cook

Spring 2018         Jenny Krantz Calahan                   Jenny Krantz Calahan

Spring 2017         Jiani Ding                                       Jiani Ding

Spring 2016         Ryan Anthony Hofmann                 Ryan Anthony Hofmann

Spring 2015         Charles Patrick Mason Griffin        Chi Hanh Nguyen

Spring 2014         Cassendra Lejoly                            Amanda Walker-LaFollette

Spring 2013         Michael Tyler St. Germaine            EmilyBerkson

Spring 2012         Kaylan Burleigh                              Kamber Renea Schwarz

Spring 2011         David Eric Schneck                        Jennifer Marie Sierchio

Spring 2010         Allison Strom                                  Jason Adam Dittmann

Spring 2009         Christopher Limbach                      Melissa Revelle

Spring 2008         David Hernandez                           Mary Anne Peters

Spring 2007         Caitlin Casey                                  Unavailable

Spring 2006         Robert Marcus                               Ryeojin Park

Spring 2005         Jessica Rachel Jones                    Bi Qing For

Spring 2004         Norman Mark Milton                      Norman Mark Milton


For the public
For Public

Public events include our Monday Night Lecture Series, world-reknowned Astronomy Camp and Mt Lemmon Sky Center.

For Students

A good place to start if you want to become an undergrad major or grad student, or need to find our schedule of classes.


For Scientists
For Scientists

Find telescopes and instruments, telescope time applications, staff and mountain contacts, and faculty and staff scientific interests.