UA Science

You are here

Bok Postdoctoral Fellowship

The Bart J. Bok Fellowship for Advanced Study in Astronomy and Astrophysics was created in honour of Bart J. Bok, director of Steward Observatory from 1966 through 1970. This three-year Fellowship provides an opportunity for an exceptionally talented recent Ph.D. recipient to pursue a program of research in any area of theoretical or observational astronomy or astrophysics. The full facilities of the Observatory are available to the Fellow, who is encouraged to pursue both independent research and collaborative work with Observatory staff members.


Previous Bok Fellows


Ruobing Dong 2016-

Karin Sandstrom 2013-2015, Assistant Professor, UC San Diego

Desika Narayanan 2010-2013, Assistant Professor, University of Florida

Dean Townsley 2008-10, Assistant Professor, University of Alabama Tuscaloosa

Yancy Shirley 2005-08, Associate Professor, University of Arizona

Michiel Hogerheijde 2001-04, Universitair Docent (Assistant Professor), Leiden University, the Netherlands

Chuck Keeton 1998-01, Professor, Rutgers University

Julio Navarro 1994-98, Professor, University of Victoria

Gary Bernstein 1991-94, Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Neal Katz 1989-90, Professor, University of Massachusetts

Jill Bechtold 1988-89, Professor, University of Arizona

Dan Clemens 1983-87, Professor, Boston University

Wil van Breugel 1982-83, Astronomer, Lawrence Livermore National Labs

Tim Heckman 1980-81, Professor, Johns Hopkins

Charles Lada 1978-80, Astronomer, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Paul Schechter 1976-78, Professor, MIT, member National Academy of Sciences

Harvey Butcher 1974-76, Director, Mt. Stromlo & Siding Spring Observatory

Roger Angel 1973-74, Professor, Univ of Arizona, member National Academy of Sciences