UA Science

You are here

The Bok Postdoctoral Fellowship


The Bart J. Bok Fellowship for Advanced Study in Astronomy and Astrophysics was created in honour of Bart J. Bok, director of Steward Observatory from 1966 through 1970. This three-year fellowship provides an opportunity for a recent Ph.D. recipient to pursue an ambitious program of research in any area of theoretical, experimental, or observational astronomy or astrophysics.


The Bok Fellow receives an annual stipend, as well access to a generous research fund to support their scientific program.  All of the observational and computational facilities of the Department of Astronomy and Steward Observatory are available to the Fellow, who is encouraged to conduct independent research and to develop collaborations with faculty, staff, and students.


Emma Beasor will be the Bok Fellow beginning in Fall 2022.





Previous Bok Fellows

Cristobal Petrovich 2019-2020, Assistant Professor, Universidad Catolica, Chile

Ruobing Dong 2016-2018, Assistant Professor, University of Victoria

Karin Sandstrom 2013-2015, Assistant Professor, UC San Diego

Desika Narayanan 2010-2013, Assistant Professor, University of Florida

Dean Townsley 2008-10, Associate Professor, University of Alabama Tuscaloosa

Yancy Shirley 2005-08, Associate Professor, University of Arizona

Michiel Hogerheijde 2001-04, Associate Professor, Leiden University

Chuck Keeton 1998-01, Professor, Rutgers University

Julio Navarro 1994-98, Professor, University of Victoria

Gary Bernstein 1991-94, Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Neal Katz 1989-90, Professor, University of Massachusetts

Jill Bechtold 1988-89, Professor, University of Arizona

Dan Clemens 1983-87, Professor, Boston University

Wil van Breugel 1982-83, Astronomer, Lawrence Livermore National Labs

Tim Heckman 1980-81, Professor, Johns Hopkins, member National Academy of Sciences

Charles Lada 1978-80, Astronomer, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Paul Schechter 1976-78, Professor, MIT, member National Academy of Sciences

Harvey Butcher 1974-76, Director, Mt. Stromlo & Siding Spring Observatory

Roger Angel 1973-74, Professor, Univ of Arizona, member National Academy of Sciences

For the public
For Public

Public events include our Monday Night Lecture Series, world-reknowned Astronomy Camp and Mt Lemmon Sky Center.

For Students

A good place to start if you want to become an undergrad major or grad student, or need to find our schedule of classes.


For Scientists
For Scientists

Find telescopes and instruments, telescope time applications, staff and mountain contacts, and faculty and staff scientific interests.