UA Science

You are here

Advisors

If you are a declared Astronomy major at the University, your first point of advising contact is Holly Brown. You may schedule an appointment with Holly using the online appointment calendar:

https://sbs.arizona.edu/advising/scheduling.php

Holly Brown's office, PAS 356, (520)626-1231.

Faculty Mentors

Faculty mentors are assigned to each student with Astronomy as their major. Check with the Academic Office if you do not know who your mentor is and the staff will be able to help you. Astronomy majors are recommended to meet with their mentors as they can be a valuable source of information and support for more general matters, and a reference for scholarships, job applications, graduate school, etc. Please see the list of Undergraduate Faculty Mentors below:

Name

Phone

Location

Email

Gina Brissenden

626-9480

SO 203

gbrissenden@as.arizona.edu

John Bieging

621-4878

SO 224

jbieging@as.arizona.edu

Tom Fleming

621-5049

SO 209

tfleming@as.arizona.edu

Richard Poss

621-8630

SO 212

rposs@as.arizona.edu

Philip Pinto

621-8678

SO 326

ppinto@as.arizona.edu

Yancy Shirley

626-3666

SO N310

yshirley@as.arizona.edu

Ann Zabludoff

626-2509

SO 312

azabludoff@as.arizona.edu

If you are interested in declaring as an Astronomy major, please contact Professor Yancy Shirley.

If you are a current Astronomy major with advising questions, please contact Holly Brown.

Further Information is also available by contacting:

Department of Astronomy Academic Office
933 N Cherry Avenue, Room N204 
Tucson AZ 85721-0065 
Phone: (520) 621-2288 
Fax: (520) 621-1532