UA Science

You are here

Advisors

 

Faculty Advisors

Faculty advisors are assigned to each student with Astronomy as their major. Check with the Academic Office if you do not know who your advisor is and the staff will be able to help you. If you wish to change advisors, simply file a written request with the Academic Office. Astronomy majors are required to meet with their advisor at least once a semester, to review progress and plan course selection for the following year. The advisor can also be a valuable source of information and support for more general matters, and a reference for scholarships, job applications, graduate school, etc. Please see the list of Undergraduate Faculty Advisors below:

Name

Phone

Location

Email

Ed Olszewski

621-1973

SO 316

eolszewski@as.arizona.edu

John Bieging

621-4878

SO 224

jbieging@as.arizona.edu

Tom Fleming

621-5049

SO 209

tfleming@as.arizona.edu

Ed Prather

621-6530

SO 207

eprather@as.arizona.edu

Phil Pinto

621-8678

SO 326

ppinto@as.arizona.edu

Yancy Shirley

626-3666

SO N310

yshirley@as.arizona.edu

Chris Walker

621-8783/3924

SO 211

cwalker@as.arizona.edu

For further information about the Undergraduate Program, contact: Yancy Shirley

Further Information is also available by contacting:

Department of Astronomy Academic Office
933 N Cherry Avenue, Room N204 
Tucson AZ 85721-0065 
Phone: (520) 621-2288 
Fax: (520) 621-1532