UA Science

You are here

2021 Department of Astronomy PhD Graduates. Left:courtesy Michelle Cournoyer. Right: courtesy Buell Jannuzi.

Graduation 2021

In May 2021 we celebrated the following students receiving degrees: seventeen undergrad Astronomy Majors, one Astronomical Studies minor,  six Astronomy minors, five graduate students who defended in Summer 2020, two who graduated in May 2021, and three who will graduate very soon.

Professor Don McCarthy organized another great virtual  departmental graduation with Nobel Laureate (and former Hubble Fellow at The University of Arizona) Dr Andrea Ghez as the main speaker. You can see a video of the graduation HERE. A transacript of Dr Ghez's talk can be read HERE.

Congratulations to the undergraduate majors and minors and recent PhDs. 

Undergrad Majors: Magda Fernanda Andrade Alcantar, Sarah Renee DeSantis, Danielle Ashley Dickinson, Carter Scott Eckel, Maria Elise Galloway-Sprietsma, Savannah Rose Gramze, Aaron Benjamin Granados, Emery Mark Gunselman, Michael Morgan Hardegree-Ullman, Grace Catherine Hathaway, Adrien Masini, Caroline Elizabeth McCormick, Shavonne Marie Morin, Alexander Ruthford, Wesley Jordan Smith, Nicholas Edward Thompson, Jeffrey Robert Vickroy.

Minors: Paul Rogers is the Astronomical Studies Minor. The Astronomy minors are Alyssa Baller, Jodi Kreiner, Anya Lundstrom, Kaili Martinez, Kaylah McGowan, and Linpeng Sun.

Doctoral students receiving PhDs since graduation 2020 include Rixin Li, Christine O’Donnell, Peter Senchyna, Rachel Smullen, Eckhart Spalding, and  Alex Bixel. Nico Garavito Camargo will graduate in late May, with Chris Bilinski, Jennifer Kadowaki, and Michael Hammer to soon follow.

For the public
For Public

Public events include our Monday Night Lecture Series, world-reknowned Astronomy Camp and Mt Lemmon Sky Center.

For Students

A good place to start if you want to become an undergrad major or grad student, or need to find our schedule of classes.


For Scientists
For Scientists

Find telescopes and instruments, telescope time applications, staff and mountain contacts, and faculty and staff scientific interests.